© 2019 YNME

PORSHA OLAYIWOLA
I SHIMMER SOMETIMES, TOO

Porsha Olayiwola's debut poetry collection soars with the power and presence of live performance. These poems dip their hands deep into the fabric of black womanhood, pulling out all of its threads. This book establishes Porsha Olayiwola firmly in the lineage of black queer poetics, pulling equally from Audre Lorde and Danez Smith. This is a book of gentle breaking and inventive reconstruction. This is a book of self-care, and community-care--the pursuit of building a world that will keep you alive.

- Button Poetry

2020
Tour Schedule

 

Each date includes a reading and book signing by Porsha Olayiwola

* Dates are craft talks with Q&A from audience/participants

 

Contact booking@ynmecreatives.com for tour questions or inquiries

Sunday, November 17 | Minneapolis, MN | Icehouse MPLS

 

Monday, November 18 | Boston, MA | Boston Public Library

 

Thursday, November 22 | Georgetown, TX | Southwestern University

 

Monday, December 2 | Boston, MA | Northeastern University

 

Wednesday, December 18 | Houston, TX | Write About Now

 

Thursday, December 19 | Decatur, GA | Charis Books & More

 

Friday, December 20 | Atlanta, GA | The Book Worm

 

Friday, December 27 | New York, NY | Nuyorican Poets Cafe

 

Monday, January 20 | Boston, MA | Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

 

Wednesday, January 22 | Holyoke, MA | Care Center

 

Monday, January 27 | Seattle, WA | Elliott Bay Book Company

 

Tuesday, January 28 | Seattle, WA | Hugo House*

 

Wednesday, January 29 | Cambridge, MA | Boston Poetry Slam

 

Friday, January 31 | Chicago, IL | Big Kid Slam (RESCHEDULED)

 

Tuesday, February 4 | Philadelphia, PA | People's Books & Culture Bookstore

 

Monday, February 24 | Burlington, VT | University of Vermont

 

Tuesday, February 25 | Washington D.C | Busboys & Poets

 

Wednesday, February 26 | Washington D.C. | Busboys & Poets

 

Friday, February 29 | Bridgewater, MA | Bridgewater State Univ.

 

Sunday, March 1 | Los Angeles, CA | Skylight Books

 

Tuesday, March 3 | Los Angeles, CA | Da Poetry Lounge

 

Wednesday, March 4 | Oakland, CA | Chapter 510

 

Thursday, March 5 | Oakland, CA | The Root Slam - Dig Series

 

Saturday, March 7 | Columbus, OH | Two Dollar Radio

 

Tuesday, March 17 | Detroit, MI | Pages Bookshop

 

Friday, March 20 | Denver, CO | Lighthouse Writers Workshop

 

Saturday, March 21 | Denver, CO | Lighthouse Writers Workshop *

 

Tuesday, March 24 | Boston, MA | City Space / WBUR